Blank Canvas by Edward Ian Kendrick A review

Blank Canvas by Edward Ian Kendrick

A little while ago, I was given the privilege of being asked to take a look at a book a twitter friend of mine EDDSNOTDEAD  had written. To give some feed back, thoughts ect. yeah, I thought, why not. I’m a keen but rather inactive writer, it’ll be good to see what other people have written, and I have a genuine interest in EDS work.

Email comes through.

I start to read. Now I had been given a rough synopsis, but was really going in blind.
MAN! THIS IS BLOODY GOOD, ITS LIKE A PROPER BOOK, YOU KNOW A CLEVER ONE, WITH PLOT AND EVERYTHING!

Now please don’t think im patronising, I’m not! I just wanted to give you my real reaction. I didn’t know what to really expect, and Blank Canvas blew me away.

To be honest, I was completely pulled in from the start, a pacy intro, an instant empathy with the books lead Gita. Set in Earth’s future with a new religion and population hitting crisis point. We join Our lead on an epic journey housed on the giant colony vessel ‘The Buckingham’  with its five hundred thousand sleeping inhabitants to new planets to create new settlements.
Following a malfunction (which is done in the most unexpected way)  the crew leave for a repair ship, choosing Gita, (the ships artist) a new role as the vessel’s lone care taker.
We follow Gita and her long isolation as she paints, cares for the ship’s sleeping passengers and deals with her isolation, missing her fellow crew and daily interaction.The way Edward overcomes this isolation and interaction is ingenious, clever and even witty. Yes I’m very jealous! xxx

Gita has some futuristic yet very believable aids to help her cope with her solitary journey, all I can say is, I WANT A SLEEPING DUMMY!Edward tackles  the sexual needs of Gita with a real mix of eroticism and sensualism any author would be proud of.

Don’t be fooled; Yes Gita is predominantly alone but this book reveals many interesting characters who Gita interacts with in her own unique way. Plenty of back story, the reader is thrown deep in Gita’s life, and get a comprehensive understanding of her psyche.
Gita very quickly became a part of my life.
So well written and so very visual, Blank Canvas is a believable, thought-provoking, must have read.

Id love to write more, but am in fear of too many spoilers, as I would love you to enjoy this book as much as I did. It’s a real welcome addition to the science fiction genre.

Blank Canvas is avaliable on Kindle in the amazon store, dont forget you can get the kindle app for the ipad

DOWNLOAD IT HERE

Thanks for reading.

Love as always Jo xxx

 

 

One thought on “Blank Canvas by Edward Ian Kendrick A review

Leave a comment